HISTORY

Affairs of the heart linger longer – our Stockstadt Recorder Festival has been a firmly established event on the Early Music and international wind instrument circuit since 1985.

It is thanks to the efforts of Eva & Wilhelm Becker (and their supporters) that this popular festival emerged right in the heart of Germany: their achievement in founding, financing for the long term, organising and implementing an event that celebrates all things related to the recorder and Early Music is immense. For over 30 years now, they have been bringing together a veritable A-Z of international artists in front of vast audiences, as well as instrument makers and specialist publishers. Every year they set the stage for top-class musical experiences and a meeting of equals.

It therefore comes as no surprise that the couple received the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2015 for their joint and tireless commitment – a prestigious and well deserved accolade, honouring nothing less than a life’s work.

It all started in 1985 with the recorder festival days in Darmstadt; not long after, they had to switch to a larger venue – Rüsselsheim’s Municipal Theatre – on account of the festival’s great success. Since 1997, the Recorder Festival has taken place in the couple’s home town of Stockstadt am Rhein in the state of Hessen.

They founded a festival that delighted both young and old with its warmth, spirit and passion. Twenty productions have been celebrated in Stockstadt, and the festival is now a well-established happening, not only for recorder enthusiasts or Early Music fans, but as a musical attraction for all.

The profession’s big names have all appeared onstage in Stockstadt: the gentlemen Savall, Leonhardt, the brothers Kuijken, and especially MsVerbruggen, have all been welcome guests. But not only them: the recorder quartet Loeki Stardust and the Flanders Recorder Quartet, Han Tol and Meike Herzig have often enlivened the town of Stockstadt. Later, the Ensemble l’Ornamento joined in. In 1998 Maurice Steger entered the scene, as did Musica Antiqua Köln and Reinhard Goebel. World-class performers play the provinces!

The German recorder player Dorothee Oberlinger has been visiting Stockstadt since 2000 – giving either solo recitals or joining lively ensembles – without pausing, and she has set the bar higher each time. And every now and again the festival also features vocal performances or Early Music groups who perform as-yet-unheard tunes.

Take a look at our festival programme:

ONLINE MASTERCLASS 1
FOUNDERS
Menu

Geschichte

Herzensangelegenheiten weilen am längsten – seit 1985 ist unser Festival Blockflötenfesttage Stockstadt ein fester Begriff in der Alten Musik Landschaft und der internationalen Bläserszene.

Der Initiative, langjährigen Finanzierung, Organisation und Durchführung von Eva & Wilhelm Becker und ihren Helfern ist es zu danken, dass im Herzen Deutschlands dieses bekannte Festival rund um die Blockflöte und die Alte Musik entstanden ist. Seit über 30 Jahren vereinen sie vor großem Publikum das entsprechende internationale Who is Who an Künstlern sowie Instrumentenherstellern und spezialisierten Verlagen und bereiten alljährlich das Podium für musikalische Erlebnisse der Spitzenklasse und für Begegnung auf Augenhöhe.

So verwundert es kaum, dass dem Ehepaar 2015 für ihr gemeinsames, unermüdliches Engagement das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande verliehen wurde – eine hohe und wohlverdiente Auszeichnung, die nichts weniger als ein Lebenswerk ehrt.

1985 hatte alles mit den Blockflötentagen in Darmstadt begonnen ( schauen Sie doch mal in unser Programmheftarchiv ), von wo aus man sich bald wegen des großen Erfolgs ins Rüsselsheimer Stadttheater verlegte. Seit 1997 finden die Blockflötenfesttage in der hessischen Heimatgemeinde des Ehepaares in Stockstadt am Rhein statt.

Mit viel Wärme, Herzblut und Leidenschaft entstand ein Musikfestival, das immer wieder Jung und Alt begeistert. 20 Editionen in Stockstadt wurden gefeiert, das Festival hat sich etabliert, nicht nur für Blockflötenfreunde oder Alte Musik Fans, vielmehr als ein musikalisches Zentrum für alle.

So traten die Größten der Zunft regelmäßig in Stockstadt auf: Die Herren Savall, Leonhardt, die Gebrüder Kuijken und besonders Frau Verbruggen waren gern gesehene Gäste. Aber auch die Blockflötenensembles Loeki Stardust und das Flanders Recorder Quartet, Han Tol und Meike Herzig belebten Stockstadt oft, später das Ensemble l’Ornamento, 1998 kam Maurice Steger dazu, oder die Musica Antiqua Köln und Reinhard Goebel. Weltniveau in der Provinz.

Die deutsche Blockflötistin Dorothee Oberlinger ist, sei es im Rezital oder in initiativen Ensembleprojekten, in Stockstadt seit 2000 pausierte nie und setzte immer wieder neue Maßstäbe. Und immer wieder gibt es auch Vokalkonzerte oder Alte Musik Formationen die bisher Ungehörtes präsentieren bei den Blockflötenfesttagen.

Hören Sie hier einen Radiobeitrag von Frau Natascha Pflaumbaum, Hessischer Rundfunk:

Hier finden Sie unser Programm 2020:

ONLINE MEISTERKURS 1
INITIATOREN
Menü