© Marco Borggreve

Artistic director

Maurice Steger established himself as one of the most sought-after soloists in the Early Music scene soon after gaining his Soloists’ Diploma in 1995. The recorder player has had the great fortune of playing with some of the best Baroque orchestras all over the world, getting to know specific ways of, and varying approaches to, making music in the process. At the same time, Maurice Steger enjoyed a recorder player’s rare privilege of developing and touring internationally a Baroque repertoire with orchestras that play on modern instruments. He was increasingly being called upon to take a leading role, and so he decided to immerse himself in this subject and went on to study conducting.

Nowadays, Maurice Steger leads large orchestras and develops musical concepts mostly in the field of Early Music. He is thus not only a guest conductor of the hr and NDR radio orchestras – he also coordinates musical programmes and concepts. The artist is now in the 23rd season of teaming up on joint projects with the Zurich Chamber Orchestra, which he also served for some years as Baroque Music Director. During this time, the transition was made from a modern to a historically oriented orchestra that deploys baroque tuning on period instruments, a switch that has proven to be a great success.

As programme director, Maurice Steger also developed formats such as the Children’s Concerts series. He also advocated such youth projects as the “Young Ears” scheme in Frankfurt’s Alte Oper opera house, and even created a character for children, the flute-playing prince Tino Flautino. The project was so successful that various sequels have been commissioned in the meantime for Early and modern music (written for Maurice Steger by R. Schacher and V. Fortin). Numerous debuts were performed, and there are story books relating the tales of www.tinoflautino.ch. Performers run workshops, play concerts in auditoriums and halls, and more than 600 events offer children the chance to hear all about the music and the world of stories in relation to the recorder, as well as some of the secrets surrounding the instrument.

Steger directed the Schafffhauser Recorder Festival for 13 years as well as the master classes at Waldegg Castle near Solothurn. He has been the Director of the Gstaad Baroque Academy since 2013, an institute that is part of the Gstaad Menuhin Festival, which has managed to achieve an excellent reputation in next to no time. In 2018 he directed the tradition-rich Ittingen Whitsun Festival 2018. Taking on the artistic direction of the Stockstadt Recorder Festival is a matter very close to Maurice Steger’s heart, and he will continue to run the festival in the same spirit as its founder Wilhelm Becker: with ears that are open for emerging sounds, with a sense of tradition, an extensive network and great access to artists, ensembles, agencies, cross-genre organisations, and – most importantly – with great affection for music and for people.

ORGANISERS
In mourning
Menu

© Marco Borggreve

Künstlerischer Leiter

Maurice Steger etablierte sich nach seinem Solistendiplom 1995 rasch zu einem der begehrtesten Solisten auf dem Gebiet der Alten Musik. Der Blockflötist hatte das Glück, mit den besten Barockorchestern weltweit spielen zu dürfen und dabei spezifische Musizierarten wie unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen kennen zu lernen. Parallel dazu genoss Maurice Steger wohl das seltene Privileg eines barocken Blockflötisten, immer wieder mit auf modernen Instrumenten spielenden Orchestern ein barockes Repertoire erarbeiten zu können und international zu touren. Immer öfter wurden ihm dabei Leitungsfunktionen abverlangt. Er entschied sich, der Sache auf den Grund zu gehen und studierte Dirigieren.

Mittlerweile leitet Maurice Steger große Orchester und setzt Konzepte vornehmlich mit Alter Musik um. So ist er für die Klangkörper des NDR oder hr nicht nur Gastdirigent, sondern auch Vermittler von musikalischen Programmationen und Konzepten. Mit dem Zürcher Kammerorchester befindet sich der Künstler in der 23. Saison von gemeinsamen Projekten, er leitete das Orchester einige Jahre auch als Baroque Director. Die Umstellung vom modernen zum historisch orientierten Orchester, welches in barocker Stimmung und auf Originalinstrumenten spielt, wurde in dieser Zeit umgesetzt und wird mittlerweile sehr erfolgreich praktiziert.

Als Programmleiter entwickelte Maurice Steger auch Formate wie die KInderKOnzerte, vermittelte viele Jugendprojekte wie junge Ohren in der Alten Oper Frankfurt und kreierte gar eine Figur für Kinder, den flötespielenden Prinzen Tino Flautino. Das Projekt wurde so erfolgreich, dass inzwischen verschiedene Folgen mit Alter und Neuer Musik (R. Schacher und V. Fortin haben für Maurice Steger geschrieben) existieren, es wurden Uraufführungen gegeben, es gibt Lesebücher der Geschichten von www.tinoflautino.ch, die Akteure geben Workshops, Konzerte in Aulen, Kirchen und Sälen und in über 600 Veranstaltungen wird den Kindern die Musik, die Welt der Geschichten und einige Geheimnisse der Blockflöte vermittelt.

Steger leitete während 13 Jahren die Schaffhauser Blockflötentage, die Meisterkurse auf Schloss Waldegg Solothurn, ist seit 2013 Direktor der Gstaad Baroque Academy, ein Unternehmen des Gstaad Menuhin Festivals, welches sich in kurzer Zeit eine hervorragende Stellung erspielt hat. 2018 leitete er zudem musikalisch wie unternehmerisch erfolgreich das traditionsreiche Pfingstfestival Ittingen 2018. Die künstlerische Leitung der Blockflötenfesttage Stockstadt ist Maurice Steger eine ganz besondere Herzensangelegenheit, welche er im Sinne des Initiators Wilhelm Becker weiterführen wird, mit offenen Ohren für Neue Klänge, mit Sinn für Tradition, mit einem starken weltweiten Netzwerk zu Künstlern, Ensembles, Agenturen, genreübergreifenden Organisationen und mit sehr viele Liebe zur Musik und zu Menschen.

VERANSTALTER
Wir trauern
Menü