Foreign Masters

Max Volbers & Alexander von Heißen

With enthusiasm and imagination, Max Volbers, honored as the Emerging Artist of the Year at the 2023 OPUS KLASSIK, and Alexander von Heißen, winner of the 2022 Bach Competition, bring to life a vibrant facet of the music metropolis London in their new program ‘Foreign Masters’.

Virtuosos ahead!
Migrants from Europe played a significant role in shaping the extraordinarily rich music scene of 18th-century London. However, this musical landscape wouldn’t have existed without the expertise of musicians and composers from the continent – opulent operas, a plethora of new compositions eagerly embraced by printers and publishers, and dozens of public and private concerts daily.

To name just a few figures: Handel was the most influential English composer, with his opera arias becoming popular on the island. Oboist Sammartini from Italy made a name for himself in the King’s Theatre orchestra, and his compositions were considered original and fiery. Corelli and Alberti, who never set foot on English soil, became stars through savvy music publishers in the world city. Simultaneously, the recorder gained popularity as the ‘Gentleman’s flute,’ an instrument for wealthy enthusiasts and connoisseurs who performed in private circles for guests. Jacques Paisible/James Pesible, one of the greatest recorder players of the time, also contributed to the instrument’s soaring popularity in England.”

Max Volbers recorder
Alexander von Heißen harpsichord

» maxvolbers.de
» alexandervonheissen.de
» watch video on YouTube
» watch video on YouTube

FR, 10.5.24 | 16:00 | » Rossini-Saal | Duration: ca. 90 minutes | Concert without intermission

[shariff]

Masterclass
Bach 2.0 – From the recorder to the traverso

Foreign Masters

Max Volbers & Alexander von Heißen

Mit Spielfreude und Fantasie machen Max Volbers, 2023 mit dem OPUS KLASSIK als Nachwuchskünstler des Jahres ausgezeichnet, und Alexander von Heißen, der 2022 den Bach-Wettbewerb gewann, eine schillernde Facette der Musikmetropole London in ihrem neuen Programm „Foreign Masters“ lebendig.

Virtuosen vor – Ausländer rein!
Migranten aus Europa bestimmten die unvergleichlich reiche Musikszene der Hauptstadt des 18. Jahrhunderts: London. Sie aber hätte es ohne die Fachkräfte vom Kontinent, Musiker und Komponisten, nicht gegeben – opulente Opern, eine Unzahl neuer Kompositionen, auf die sich Drucker und Verleger stürzten, Dutzende von öffentlichen Konzerten und Hauskonzerten täglich.

Um nur ein paar Namen zu nennen: Händel war der einflussreichste englische Komponist, seine Opernarien waren auf der Insel Pop. Im Orchester des King’s Theatre machte sich der Oboist Sammartini aus Italien einen Namen; seine Kompositionen galten als originell und feurig. Corelli und Alberti, die nie englischen Boden betraten, machten findige Musikverleger in der Weltstadt zu Stars. Zugleich kam die Blockflöte in Mode als „Gentleman’s flute“, als das Instrument wohlhabender Liebhaber und Kenner, die im privaten Kreis vor Gästen auftraten. Auch Jacques Paisible/James Pesible, einer der größten Blockflötisten der Zeit, hatte seinem Instrument zu dem englischen Höhenflug verholfen.

Max Volbers Blockflöte
Alexander von Heißen Cembalo

» maxvolbers.de
» alexandervonheissen.de
» Video auf YouTube ansehen
» Video auf YouTube ansehen

FR, 10.5.24 | 16:00 | » Rossini-Saal | Dauer: ca. 90 Minuten | Konzert ohne Pause

[shariff]

Meisterkurs
Bach 2.0 – Von der Blockflöte zum Traverso